Friday, November 22, 2013

Zodiac... What? What?

Recently I've been captivated by the wondrous world of astrology. At first it was very confusing but after doing my research I have learned the ins-and-outs of this mysterious world. So for any of you mystical people who want to have insight into themselves, check it out! Here is some info for you!

The Zodiac
The history of the zodiac dates back to the ancient Egyptians and the Babylonians. These people understood that it took the sun 12 lunar cycles (months) to get back to its original location. The people then identified that these lunar cycles were linked to the progression of the seasons. The Babylonians then decided to name the lunar cycles with animals. For example, the rainy season was found to occur when the Sun was in a particular constellation which was then named Aquarius

The signs of the zodiac are divided into four groups:
   Fire Signs: Aries, Sagittarius, Leo
   Water Signs: Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces
   Air Signs: Libra, Aquarius, Gemini
   Earth Signs: Capricorn, Taurus, Virgo

Each of these four groups is its own group of "houses," on a circle. The division of the 12 houses is based on Earth's daily rotation and relates to such circumstances as relationships, finances, travel, etc. The division of the 12 signs of the zodiac, on the other hand, is based on the earth's year-long rotation around the Sun and relates to character traits and areas of life. For example, Venus represents affection, Mercury represents speech and writing. Each planet is associated with two signs, and the Sun and Moon with one each    (Info:

 The signs of the Zodiac can give us great insights into our day to day living as well as the many talents and special qualities we posses. You can discover a great deal of relevant information about yourself through reading about your Zodiac sign.

Aries (March 21 - April 19) is energetic, innovative, original, pioneering, assertive, quick-tempered, strong drive, leader, ambitious, extroverted, sometimes aggressive, competitive, enthusiastic, self-reliant, and self-assured.

Taurus (April 20 - May 20) is determined, efficient, stubborn, cautious, placid, persistent, enduring, introverted, conservative, conventional, materialistic, security conscious, stable, industrious, dependable, and one generally having significant financial ability.

Gemini (May 21 - June 20) is flexible, versatile, restless, a jack-of-all-trades, lively, alert, quick-witted, literary, communicative, a good conversationalist, changeable, sociable, logical, ingenious, agile, dexterous, intellectual, and mentally ambitious.

Cancer (June 21 - July 22) is introverted, reserved, emotional, sensitive, moody, sympathetic, security-conscious, prudent, retentive, domestic, maternal, protective, quiet, calm, imaginative, conscientious, and quite the traditionalist.

Leo (July 23 - August 22) is ambitious, a lover of limelight, speculative, extroverted, optimistic, honorable, dignified, confident, proud, exuberant, sunny, flamboyant, charismatic, dramatic, competitive, a leader and an organizer.

Virgo (August 23 - September 22) is practical, responsible, sensible, logical, analytical, highly discriminating, a careful planner, precise and punctual, dedicated, perfectionist, critical, health conscious, and somewhat introverted.

Libra (September 23 - October 22) is idealistic, a peacemaker, diplomatic, refined, poised, gracious, kind, courteous, fair-minded, sociable, charming, artistically creative, affable, cooperative, extroverted, and usually somewhat indecisive.

Scorpio (October 23 - November 21) is intense, determined, powerful, strong-willed, forceful, bold, courageous, enduring, competitive, resourceful, researcher, an investigator, secretive, mysterious, penetrating, psychic, self-reliant, and somewhat introverted or closed.

Sagittarius (November 22 - December 21) is idealistic, optimistic, freedom-loving, casual, friendly, buoyant, gregarious, enthusiastic, philosophical, studious, farseeing, direct, outspoken, honest, loyal, restless and loves travel.

Capricorn (December 22 - January 19) is ambitious (power, position, money), organizational, self-disciplined, rigid, thrifty, prudent, security-conscious, conservative, responsible, practical, persistent, political, business oriented, methodical.

Aquarius (January 20 - February 18) is individualistic, unconventional, progressive, unique, independent, humanitarian, altruistic, visionary, perceptive, intellectual, logical, ingenious, inventive, unpredictable, detached, friendly, and scientific.

Pisces (February 19 - March 20) is receptive, supersensitive, impressionable, peace-loving, serious, sympathetic, charitable, compassionate, artistic, creative, dreamer, dedicated, imaginative, psychic, shy, introverted, spiritual, and reclusive.

All that is just some basic information about the zodiac and what character traits you might have for your sign. I'm just discovering this interesting world so I will be sure to share it with you as I learn more! 

No comments:

Post a Comment